h1

My Service Experiences

March 19, 2013

By Seelypon Phanthip JFAD 1

Service is a part of who I have become. Prior to going to college, I partook in community service projects in which a few of my high school clubs participated. I would help build a house, wrap presents for the holidays, tutor kids in math, or cleanup a wash to make a walking trail. I knew it was the “right” thing to do. However, it was not until I had the opportunity to be a part of the Social Action and Justice (SAAJ) Colloquium at Pepperdine University that I began to scratch the surface of what service truly is. Within SAAJ, I got a taste of what social justice entails. It opened my eyes to the different populations that need services and the vast variety of programs that could be offered.

PVC retreat

In addition to SAAJ, I spent all four of my college years taking part in an AmeriCorps program called Jumpstart, which works with early childhood education. With Jumpstart, I had the opportunity to learn about the need for quality education from a young age and how a simple program like Jumpstart could help bridge the education gap. Through Jumpstart, I gained a position in the Pepperdine Volunteer Center (PVC) staff as a Team Leader for Jumpstart. As a staff member, I was able to dig deeper in social justice and how it relates to the service that I was doing. I led groups on service projects and exposed them to nonprofits in the Greater Los Angeles area. I lead groups of college students in preschool classrooms to try to bridge the education gap. I traveled to Costa Rica to help build a multipurpose center, rebuild habitats for animals, and work with children in an orphanage. I spent time on Skid Row to experience one night as a homeless person. I could not imagine what kind of person I would be if I did not involve myself in all these service projects.

 

Costa Rica

Service is every experience you are giving to another person. As a VISTA, living on a stipend gives me an insight of those who have to endure the struggles of everyday life, paycheck to paycheck. It provides the motivation to make any project I am a part of better than it was before. Service comes in all forms; it is all about seeing every experience in a different light.

SFD 2

One comment

  1. Great article Seelypon. I’m glad you have continued your service with Nevada Health Centers!



Leave a Reply

