h1

View from VISTA: Alexis at United Way of Southern Nevada– Immediate Needs

January 25, 2013

Alexis

I have to admit, I was extremely envious of the VISTAs I met during Pre-Service Orientation that were relocating for their terms. I was jealous of the new people they would meet, the new community they would call home, and the new places they would see. I wasn’t born in Las Vegas but I have lived here for the majority of my life.  Little did I know that my VISTA term in my hometown would give me all of those experiences and so much more. My coworkers at the United Way of Southern Nevada welcomed me in with open arms and it wasn’t long until I was able to witness a new side of Las Vegas that I had never before been exposed to.

I have been able to meet individuals that are driven by their passion to leave a positive impact on our community because of my VISTA position. One of the greatest lessons I have learned in my VISTA term is that I did not need to relocate to experience a new community, meet new people, and see new things. In all my years growing up in Las Vegas I had never witnessed such a generous and caring side of our community. I am so happy that I made the decision to become an AmeriCorps VISTA in Las Vegas because it has given me a new sense of pride for my community!

This is the eighth in a series profiling the 15 AmeriCorps VISTAs serving in Southern Nevada during the 2012-13 year.  For more information on AmeriCorps VISTA and national service opportunities in Southern Nevada, click here.

Leave a Reply

